Totally Radical Sportz!

Campaign – Chapter 11

Posted in erbooker by erbooker on 06/28/2016

Campaign

Campaign manager Katrina “Kate” Kindling is striving against all odds to get Senator Marcia Brute into the White House.

Chapter Eleven – Lockdown

Sen. Marcia Brute is in her office speaking with Bruce Bert, an old friend from her hometown of Smackover, Arkansas who she brought on to the campaign staff to represent the everyman.

“So what’s Joe Q. Public saying about me, Bruce?”

“Well, that radio interview your husband did saying guns are quote ‘actually kinda cool and make cool noises’ didn’t go over well.”

Sen. Brute shuffles some papers around her desk. “Yeah, he’s an idiot.”

“But that’s not why I’m here, Marcia.”

“Ma’am?” Staffer Hattie Bloob pokes her head in the Senator’s office. “I just quickly wanted to introduce you to our new campaign volunteers.”

Mob henchmen Ricky Faulk & Harry Schette poke their heads in behind Hattie’s.

“Hiya,” Ricky waves.

“Howdy, there,” Harry nods.

“Yes, hello,” the Senator throws a hand up at the two without looking.  “Hattie? I’m with someone.”

“Sorry, ma’am.”

Hattie shuts the door and Sen. Brute turns back to Bruce. “So. Why are you here, Bru–“

“Marcia, I’m in love with you.”

“You’re what now?”

“Hi, mom!”

The Senator’s college sophomore daughter Alexandra bursts into the office.

“Alexandra, dear. It’s great to see you, but can you come back in like three minutes?”

“Better make it five,” Bruce throws an elbow over the back of his chair and nods at Alexandra.

“I can make it two, Bruce.”

“Three’s good.”

“Mom,” Alexandra responds crossly, as several Secret Service agents enter the office and shut the window blinds.

“What the hell’s this now?” the Senator asks, incredulously.

“Security breach, Madame Senator. We’re gonna have to keep this door locked until we locate the problem. I’ll have an agent stationed right outside your door.”

“Okay, but can you–“

The door shuts and locks from the outside as Sen. Brute, her daughter and Bruce Bert stare at each other.


“Alexandra, you remember Bruce from Smackover.”

“Hi, Bruce.”

“Hey there, Alexandra. How’s, uh, school?”

“Fine. What were you guys talking about in here with the door shut. You both look so serious.”

“Nothi–“

“Global warming,” Bruce interrupts the Senator. “I was just telling your mother how much I love…global warming.”

“What?” Alexandra crinkles her nose.

“Loves my stance on global warming…is what Bruce means. However, I was about to inform Bruce that I am thinking of…changing my stance on global warming. So he shouldn’t tell me he loves it, because that would be inappropriate. Because I’m married…to my new stance on global warming.”

“Mom, you promised me the environment would be an important part of your campaign. You said as President you would take steps to end global warming.”

“Marcia, I would do anything for….your original stance on global warming,” Bruce rises up out of his seat, stammering & wiping away flop-sweat. “I think I could make your original stance on global warming very happy.”

“What in the fuck are you two talking about?” Alexandra blurts.

Bruce sinks back into his seat, kerchief at his brow. “Oh god, I dunno anymore.”

“Language, young lady!” Sen. Brute scolds.

The Secret Service agent peeks back in the Senator’s office. “Ma’am, the threat has been shot and killed.”

“Oh, thank god,” Sen. Brute sighs, rushing out of the office, leaving Alexandra & Bruce staring at each other in silence.


Send all hate mail to ethanrbooker@gmail.com

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

