Totally Radical Sportz!

Deep Blue – Chapter 5

Posted in erbooker by erbooker on 09/04/2014

Deep Blue

Astronaut Miles Dewey has been stranded alone aboard the ISS Mississippi for months and is awaiting a rescue that may never come.

Chapter 5 – Month 9: Blue Velvet

May 1st, 2015

All is lost.

Hope is dead.


Houston radioed last night to inform me that shortly after liftoff the Russians lost all communications with the shuttle transporting Capt. Maria Abramova and her crew and that they fear the worst.

I don’t fear the worst. I know it. I can already feel the loss in my heart. Maria was my heart. Now I’m just an empty husk.

The first thing Maria ever said to me on this space station was “Wait here for me” while she went to retrieve a miniature Russian flag her grandmother had given her. She wanted me to place it on the moon when I became the first black astronaut to walk on its lunar surface. And I did.

The last thing I told her when her superiors sent her home was “Come back for me.” And she did.

Wait here for me.

Come back for me.


The station is over the Pacific Ocean now. It looks like blue velvet, softly rippling.

I think I’m going to go take a walk now.


Astronaut Miles Dewey is in his spacesuit gently drifting away from the Mississippi and towards the moon when he turns back to see a figure in the bay window.

Capt. Maria Abramova smiles and waves at Miles.

“I’ll be damned,” he mutters as he slowly floats away.


THE END


Send all hate mail to ethanrbooker@gmail.com

Tagged with:

Comments Off on Deep Blue – Chapter 5

